September in the Rain

by John Godber A Wiltshire Creative Production in the Main house
16 September - 9 October 2021 Main House, Salisbury Playhouse
September in the rain

About

Thursday 16 September - Saturday 9 October

September in the Rain

by John Godber

1950. Blackpool. Newly-wed Yorkshire couple, Jack played by Ian Kelsey (Coronation Street, Emmerdale and Blue Murder)  and Liz played by Nicola Sloane (Call the Midwife and Les Miserables) have crossed the Pennines for their first trip to the seaside mecca. Beneath an uncertain September sky, they holiday in a world of stripy deckchairs, sandy sandwiches and stroppy donkeys. As the Wurlitzer organ plays they sway together on the dance floor of the Tower Ballroom.

For thirty years, come rain or shine, they never miss their annual week long holiday on the Blackpool sands. Three decades of boarding houses, talent contests and fish and chips on the prom.

Moving backwards and forward through time, a married life unfolds through squabbles, children, laughter and tears against the backdrop of the heyday of the British seaside.

This moving and funny play is by John Godber, one of our most prolific and popular playwrights whose other plays include Bouncers, Teechers and Up ‘n’ Under.

 

MEMBER WHO BOOK FOR THE LEMON TABLE AND SEPTEMBER IN THE RAIN AT THE SAME TIME BEFORE THE 2ND AUGUST AND ENJOY 20% OFF UP TO 4 TICKETS*

September in the Rain image 2

September in the Rain is kindly Supported by Christopher & Frances Wain, long standing members of Salisbury Playhouse.

 

 

see it safely good to go 

We are delighted to be open for our autumn season and can’t wait to welcome you back. 

We are selling our Autumn shows at a reduced capacity to allow us to be as flexible as possible as we wait for government restrictions to lift. Performance capacities are subject to increase. For those who would prefer a little more space we have a selected number of guaranteed socially distanced performances. You can find these flagged in our performance listings, for more information please contact ticketsales@wiltshirecreative.co.uk

Booking Details

Tickets from £12

MEMBERS - BOOK FOR THE LEMON TABLE AND SEPTEMBER IN THE RAIN AT THE SAME TIME BEFORE THE 2 AUGUST AND ENJOY 20% OFF UP TO 4 TICKETS*

 

Tickets for our Autumn shows are currently being sold in bubbles available in fixed groups, usually 1, 2, 3, 4 or 6, tickets are seated together and each group is distanced from the other groups. Now that restrictions have lifted performance capacities are subject to increase. For those who would prefer a little more space we have a selected number of guaranteed socially distanced performances. You can find these flagged in our performance listings, for more information please contact ticketsales@wiltshirecreative.co.uk. 

It will be possible to pre-order drinks and ice creams as part of your booking to minimise contact with others. If you’ve missed this and want to add some on just email ticketsales@wiltshirecreative.co.uk and we will be happy to arrange this.

Tickets and times

  • Thursday 16th September
    7:30pm
  • Friday 17th September
    7:30pm
  • Saturday 18th September
    7:30pm
  • Monday 20th September
    7:30pm
    Socially Distanced Performance  
  • Tuesday 21st September
    7:30pm
  • Wednesday 22nd September
    7:30pm
  • Thursday 23rd September
    2:15pm
    Socially Distanced Performance  
  • Thursday 23rd September
    7:30pm
  • Friday 24th September
    7:30pm
  • Saturday 25th September
    2:15pm
  • Saturday 25th September
    7:30pm
  • Monday 27th September
    7:30pm
  • Tuesday 28th September
    7:30pm
    BSL Signed Performance   Captioned Performance   Socially Distanced Performance  
  • Wednesday 29th September
    7:30pm
    Socially Distanced Performance  
  • Thursday 30th September
    2:15pm
    Relaxed Performance   Dementia Friendly  
  • Thursday 30th September
    7:30pm
  • Friday 1st October
    7:30pm
  • Saturday 2nd October
    2:15pm
  • Saturday 2nd October
    7:30pm
  • Monday 4th October
    7:30pm
    Socially Distanced Performance  
  • Tuesday 5th October
    7:30pm
  • Wednesday 6th October
    7:30pm
    Socially Distanced Performance  
  • Thursday 7th October
    2:15pm
    Audio Described  
  • Thursday 7th October
    7:30pm
    Audio Described  
  • Friday 8th October
    7:30pm
  • Saturday 9th October
    2:15pm
  • Saturday 9th October
    7:30pm