logo Ticket Sales     01722 320 333

Abigail's Party

By Mike Leigh A Wiltshire Creative, Derby Theatre, Queen’s Theatre Hornchurch and Les Theatres de la Ville Luxembourg Production
30 October - 17 November 2018 Salisbury Playhouse Main House
Abigail's Party

Image Gallery

About

TUESDAY 30 OCTOBER – SATURDAY 17 NOVEMBER

Made famous by the BBC Play for Today starring Alison Steadman, Abigail’s Party is an hilarious masterpiece of situation comedy. 

Beverly and husband Laurence are entertaining their newlywed neighbours. Joining them is twitchy divorcee Sue, banished from the party of her teenage daughter, Abigail. 

Over a stack of cheesy-pineapple sticks, small talk
and splashes of alcohol, the appalling hosts’ soiree soon descends into chaos. As the sniping begins, this delicious comedy cracks open social climbing suburbia to savagely funny effect. 

★★★★ ‘Melanie Gutteridge plays Bev with such pitch perfection that the character feels, finally, freed from Alison Steadman’s formidable legacy.’ The Guardian

★★★★ ‘The greatest appeal of Abigail’s Party is its comedy, and this is plentiful under Rintoul’s direction’ BritishTheatre.com

★★★★★ ‘A pitch-perfect revival. Relevant, deliriously funny and truly unmissable’  ActDrop

★★★★ ‘A bittersweet trip down memory lane’ LondonTheatre1

Booking Details

Monday - Saturday at 7.30pm and Thursday & Saturday matinees at 2.15pm (from 30 Oct)

Tickets £27 - £12

Age guidance 11+

Post Show Talk - Wednesday 7 November at 7.30pm

Backstage Tour Saturday 17 November at 11am

Dementia Friendly Matinee - Saturday 17 November at 2.15pm

All performances will be Audio Described.

Please note: for security reasons, your bag may be searched when visiting Salisbury Playhouse.                            

Access Performances

BSL BSL Interpreted Performance - Tuesday 13 November at 7.30pm

Captioned Performance Captioned Performance - Wednesday 14 November at 7.30pm

Audio Described Audio Description & Touch Tour - Thursday 15 November at 2.15pm & 7.30pm
 (a live narrator describes the action on stage between the dialogue, via headphones)
Touch Tours (accompanying audio described performances, designed for blind or partially sighted audience members) the touch tours will start 90 minutes before the performance time.

Cast & Creatives

Director Douglas Rintoul

Designer Lee Newby

Sound Designer Ivan Stott

Lighting Designer Zoe Spurr

Tickets and times

  • Tuesday 30th October
    7:30pm
  • Wednesday 31st October
    7:30pm
  • Thursday 1st November
    2:15pm
  • Thursday 1st November
    7:30pm
  • Friday 2nd November
    7:30pm
  • Saturday 3rd November
    2:15pm
  • Saturday 3rd November
    7:30pm
  • Monday 5th November
    7:30pm
  • Tuesday 6th November
    7:30pm
  • Wednesday 7th November
    7:30pm
    Pay What You Can Night  
  • Thursday 8th November
    2:15pm
  • Thursday 8th November
    7:30pm
  • Friday 9th November
    7:30pm
  • Saturday 10th November
    2:15pm
  • Saturday 10th November
    7:30pm
  • Monday 12th November
    7:30pm
  • Tuesday 13th November
    7:30pm
    BSL Signed Performance  
  • Wednesday 14th November
    7:30pm
    Captioned Performance  
  • Thursday 15th November
    2:15pm
    Audio Described with Touch Tour  
  • Thursday 15th November
    7:30pm
    Audio Described with Touch Tour  
  • Friday 16th November
    7:30pm
  • Saturday 17th November
    2:15pm
    Dementia Friendly   Backstage Tour  
  • Saturday 17th November
    7:30pm