Salisbury partner logo Ticket Sales     01722 320 333

Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Edward Albee A Wiltshire Creative and Tobacco Factory Theatres production Age guidance 14+
26 March - 11 April 2020 Main House Salisbury Playhouse
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

About

Thursday 26 March – Saturday 11 April

EDWARD ALBEE'S WHO'S AFRAID OF VIRGINIA WOOLF?

George and Martha invite Nick and Honey to join them for a nightcap. It’s way too late in the evening, but what do they have to lose?

By turns brilliantly funny and utterly devastating, you won’t want to look away from Edward Albee’s landmark black comedy, immortalised by the film starring Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor.

Two professors and their wives living the American Dream. Following an innocent invitation after a college campus party, the paper-thin illusion that all is well starts to peel away as George and Martha realise they have a captive audience for their toxic domestic games. As dawn approaches, there is only one way this party can end. And whether they like it or not, everyone must play their part.

Pull up a chair and fix yourself a drink.

 

‘Albee’s black comedy still packs a blistering punch’ Radio Times on a previous production

 

Presented by special arrangement with Samuel French Ltd, a Concord Theatricals company.

Booking Details

Tickets: £29 – £13

Members 10% discount on first 5 nights

Backstage Tour Saturday 4 April 2.15pm and 7.30pm 

Age guidance 14+ (contains adult themes and strong language)

Access Performances

 

Captioned Performance 
Captioned performance Wednesday 8 April at 7.30pm
(speech is relayed live onto a screen, similar to television subtitles and ideal for those who may find it difficult hearing every word)

 

Audio Described 
Audio Description & Touch Tour Thursday 9 April at 2.15pm & 7.30pm
(a live narrator describes the action on stage between the dialogue, via headphones)
Touch Tours (accompanying audio described performances, designed for blind or partially sighted audience members) the touch tours will start 90 minutes before the performance time

 

BSL 
British Sign Language performance Tuesday 7 April at 7.30pm
​(an interpreter stands at the side of the stage)

 

Cast & Creatives

Cast

VW CAST

 

Creative Team

Director: David Mercatali

Designer: Anisha Fields

Lighting: Chris Swain

Sound Designer: Dinah Mullen

Tickets and times

  • Thursday 26th March
    7:30pm
    Members Discount Night  
  • Friday 27th March
    7:30pm
    Members Discount Night  
  • Saturday 28th March
    7:30pm
    Members Discount Night  
  • Monday 30th March
    7:30pm
    Members Discount Night  
  • Tuesday 31st March
    7:30pm
    Members Discount Night  
  • Wednesday 1st April
    7:30pm
  • Thursday 2nd April
    2:15pm
  • Thursday 2nd April
    7:30pm
  • Friday 3rd April
    7:30pm
  • Saturday 4th April
    2:15pm
  • Saturday 4th April
    7:30pm
  • Monday 6th April
    7:30pm
  • Tuesday 7th April
    7:30pm
    BSL Signed Performance  
  • Wednesday 8th April
    7:30pm
    Captioned Performance  
  • Thursday 9th April
    2:15pm
    Audio Described with Touch Tour  
  • Thursday 9th April
    7:30pm
    Audio Described with Touch Tour  
  • Saturday 11th April
    2:15pm
  • Saturday 11th April
    7:30pm